Coding help

Enter your questions, tips and tricks about software, hardware, electronics, etc. Help and be helped.
A§H»BRAVO
A§H Reserve
A§H Reserve

Coding help

Post by A§H»BRAVO »

Hey I was just wondering if anyone was interested in coding with me i'm a noob at it soo yeah need help were trying to code a first person shooter and yeah this clan is full of geniuses so i thought I might be able to get help... x-fire me if you are interested oh and all the people who helped will have all the credit they deserve if this game does launch :P the people who I am working with have already come up with guns and how we want the story line but were open up to ideas and need it to be there will be no pay until we get this launched on steam or something but yeah to keep it short x-fire me and i'll tell you everything :pc: Sorry for any misspells oh yeah we also need good software to use :P
A§H»Nushi
A§H Reserve
A§H Reserve

Re: Coding help

Post by A§H»Nushi »

Hi there, Bravo:

If you are interested in game programming, you may want to consider learning the basic platform first. Even if you have no ambition of learning to code this completely, it's imperative that you understand the basis of Object-Oriented coding.

You may want to start with downloading this:
Visual C# - the actual IDE (Development Environment)
Go to Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2013 for Windows Desktop, sign in/up, and download:
http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/e ... 13-express

XNA - Gaming Framework, cohesive with Visual C#:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=23714

It's called XNA, and it's free from Microsoft. It's the basic platform/library you're going to need to make some simple games to start, before attacking some larger obstacles.

Here is a good resource to start, to help understand the learning process:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb203894.aspx